Oh Please, Not The Whole “Happy Holidays” Thing Again

I have no problem at all with how people greet me during the holidays. As long as it doesn’t involve an insult or calling me a name I wouldn’t want my kids to hear. Say “Merry Christmas” to me, and I’ll thank you and say it right back to you. Say “Happy Holidays” and I’ll return the favor. Say “Happy Hanukkah” and I shall wish you the same.

I took my daughter to the Radio City Christmas show tonight and as we walked in, one of the greeters said, “Hi everybody! Happy Holidays!”

To which an elderly, white man SHOUTED back, “THAT’S MERRY CHRISTMAS, SON!”

Way to go, sir. Your mean spiritedness really showed him.

Posts like these and various chain emails about the importance of saying “Merry Christmas” make their rounds every year and they bug me. For goodness sake, if you want to say Merry Christmas, then say it. But don’t be offended if everyone doesn’t say it. And certainly don’t be offended if someone wants to say Happy Holidays, Seasons Greetings, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, or Buenas Noches (fine, forget that last one – I’m just checking to see if you’re still with me). My point is, why can’t we all just exchange greetings…smile…and enjoy it?

Does everything have to be a political statement? I don’t want to be all crabby about this because who cares? I’ll continue to say what I want to say. And I think everyone else should too. So good bye crabbiness and hello ‘NSync. Don’t tell anyone, but I love ‘NSync and I love this song. And note – it’s called “Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays.” Good for you, young Justin Timberlake.

 

10 thoughts on “Oh Please, Not The Whole “Happy Holidays” Thing Again

  1. Pingback: just feel like agitating today ;) | randomthoughts

  2. I’m with you on this one. Another subject that has been floating around in my head. You expressed it perfectly. I have friends who are Jewish, Muslim, Hindu and Christian (like me). That’s why the “Happy Holidays” phrase generated so we could honor and respect everyone’s spiritual holiday. I realize that the commercialized profit making industry caters to the Christmas buying customers, but that does not give us the right to get all egotistical about it.

    Now on the other hand, if someone calls a Christmas Tree… a Holiday Tree, that’s a whole other issue. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

