I Can’t Seem To Get In The Mood

The holiday mood, that is. I can’t seem to get in the spirit just yet. Work is busy, which I’m grateful for. And the girls keep me busy. My husband’s traveling has stopped until the end of the year, which is also a good thing.

Maybe it’s the fact that we have no snow yet. It’s been plenty cold. Bitter, even. But no snow yet. I’ve purged and organized our coat closet and restocked our scarves, gloves, mittens, earmuffs and winter boots in anticipation of the first flurries.

Could be that unlike years past, I’m not actively listening to holiday music yet. Although while walking past a lonely Santa at our local mall (a clear and sad indication to me that perhaps I’m not the only one struggling to embrace Christmas before Thanksgiving), I listened to the piped in mall music…and realized the song that was playing is one of my favorites. It was the Vince Guaraldi Trio playing the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack. My favorite song on that whole CD – “Christmastime Is Here” – is kind of slow and almost mournful. But I love it.

Maybe that’s it. Maybe I just need a little more Charlie Brown.  🙂

One thought on “I Can’t Seem To Get In The Mood

Leave a Reply

