My Kid’s Friend Watches The Kardashians and RHONJ

My daughter had a friend over recently for a playdate. Our town is pretty spread out so kids can’t walk or ride bikes to one another’s homes. So at age nine, playdates are essential. I had the TV on in the background as they were about to go upstairs when a reporter said – “Coming up at 5, see what new trouble is in store for a real housewife and her husband.” (For those not in the know of RHONJ – they’re talking about the financial troubles of Theresa Guidice and her husband. And honestly, I can’t believe that I even know that.)

Anyway, her friend said (while rolling her eyes), “Oh what did Theresa do this time? I hope she doesn’t go to prison. That show is only good because of her.”

Um, what?

Did I mention she’s NINE?

But it doesn’t end there. My daughter then asked if she could start watching “Keeping Up With the Kardashians.”

Oh hell no.

Am I being unreasonable? Do all nine year olds know about or even watch these shows? Am I being too prudish?

I mean, what’s next? Shall I invite her to have margaritas with me? Because, why the hell not, right?

2 thoughts on “My Kid’s Friend Watches The Kardashians and RHONJ

  1. I don’t have kids, but I don’t think you’re being prudish at all! I don’t see any good coming from a 9 year old (or anyone for that matter) watching shows like that. However, I think it’s probably far more common than any of us would like to acknowledge even though I don’t think that makes it OK. My future children are probably going to be horribly unpopular because I will refuse to let them watch things like that even if “everyone else” is.

Leave a Reply

