Thinking of a Friend

Today is the birthday of a good friend of mine. We’d been the best of friends for years. She was the one in high school that caught everyone’s eye. She was pretty and smart and funny and cultured and talented. She was a really good friend.

We lost touch nearly 20 years ago. In fact, she’s distanced herself from many people.

But, I’ve heard she’s happy and healthy. And for reasons that she’s chosen not to share, she’s keeping to herself. So I’ll respect that.

I miss her.

But I don’t want to end on a sad note, so here’s a song that used to make us laugh and giggle in the hallways in high school. We both liked Wham – although she preferred the less flamboyant Andrew to my wild and crazy George. Either way, the song always makes me think of her. So happy birthday, my friend!

2 thoughts on “Thinking of a Friend

  1. I found you on nablopomo — and I love this entry. And it’s nice of you to respect her privacy.
    I also just read you’re in an open adoption. I think that’s amazing. Have you told yourself that you are amazing? because you really should. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

