The Lost Art of Handwriting

How legible is your handwriting? Mine’s not bad, but it seems to be getting worse.

I always loved cursive writing and I had pretty decent penmanship. But lately my signature has become more of a lazy straight line with a couple of distinguishing marks to dot the ‘i’ and cross the ‘t’. It’s looks nothing like what I practiced for hours on end in grammar school.

My older daughter brought home a handwriting textbook the other day. She loves the look of cursive writing, but she struggles to get her letters just right.

What’s funny is that she’s questioning the whole thing. Why learn cursive when most everything is done on computers? Do we really have to know how to make a cursive letter “Q”? Who writes in cursive anymore anyway, Mom?

Part of me agrees with her. I had minor surgery last year and didn’t actually sign one piece of paper. Instead, I e-signed the documents or I filled out the pdf form, saved it, added my automatic signature and sent it back. More convenient for me and the doctor, I’m sure.

But the other part of me mourns the disappearance of such a cool art form.

Do you remember when you were a kid and you got your own mail? I loved getting cards and instantly recognizing the curly, flowery writing of my aunts.

I remember the extremely neat lettering of my second grade teacher, who hand wrote comments on the side of my report card.

And I loved the handwritten letters from Santa and the Tooth Fairy…which I was eventually shocked to discover bore a striking resemblance to my mother’s style of writing…

There’s something special about a handwritten note, a thank you card or a holiday greeting. I love receiving them. And I love sending them. I really hope the art of handwriting doesn’t go away completely.

My 4th grade penmanship assignment: write a poem using the letters in "Christmas."

My 4th grade penmanship assignment: write a poem using the letters in “Christmas.”

11 thoughts on “The Lost Art of Handwriting

  1. I feel like I can relate to this blog entry, ten fold. I like personalized notes because of the extra effort behind it and I love receiving them too. It’s too bad a lot of people opt for e-cards. What do you think?

      • No problem, and lol for that statement! I just followed your website and was wondering if you can follow me back? I definitely look forward to reading/ and commenting on most posts from your website too!

  2. I heard a rumor that some school districts were considering removing penmanship from the curriculum. The news shocked and horrified me! I hope it doesn’t really happen! Your Christmas poem is adorable!

  3. Very nice handwriting! Does your handwriting still look like this or has it changed?

    I know occasionally the idea of getting rid of cursive in schools is talked about since almost everything is typed now, but I simply cannot imagine life without handwritten notes. Great post!

    • omg my handwriting looks nothing like this anymore, although it was lovely for a few years 🙂
      And I can’t imagine life without handwritten notes either! thanks for taking time to comment.

  4. I never thought about no one really using cursive. For the most part, I print. Funny you should blog about this – coincidentally, Glen is reading about handwriting right now. And back to your side of the family…your mom has absolutely BEAUTIFUL handwriting, doesn’t she!

    • Yes she does 🙂
      With everything all digital now, there is talk of whether to teach cursive in schools. Aside from knowing how to sign your name, there arent many practical reasons to know how to write in cursive.

  5. Pingback: The Importance of Handwritten Things | Sherrie's Scriptorium

Leave a Reply

