I’m Pretty Sure I’m Failing Oprah’s Meditation Challenge

I signed up (again) to do the Oprah and Deepak Chopra 21-Day Meditation Challenge. I did it earlier this year and completed most of the 21 days. But this time, it’s only Day 2 and I can’t quite get it together.

Today’s thought: I am a radiant, spiritual being.

Lovely. I can handle that. I settle in to my comfy position (seated with palms resting in my lap, face up to receive all the good vibes) and I close my eyes.

The mantra is “So Hum” which means I am.

Diggin’ it.

It’s only a 10 minute challenge and as it begins, Deepak Chopra says, “Repeat the mantra. I’ll mind the time. As we near the end, I’ll ring a soft bell signifying that it’s time to release the mantra and end the meditation.”

Cool.

Here’s how my inner dialogue looked in my mind:

Oh, it’s nice to be still and have some quiet.

Focus. Focus. Say the mantra…

So…hummmm.

Sounds like ho hum. *smiles a bit*

FOCUS.

So…hum…

So…hum…

This chair is comfortable. I’m glad I recushioned these chairs. It makes the dining room look nicer.

FOCUS.

My butt is asleep. Maybe I should move just a bit.

*flashback to the mid-1990s* I remember that campaign started by that cute guy on Melrose Place…what was his name…Andrew Shue! OMG what a total hottie he was. Anyway, his campaign was called “Don’t just sit there – DO something.” He was trying to get kids to be more active. How good of him.

OMG. FOCUS.

Andrew Shue.

I remember when he and Alison broke up. She was never good for him anyway. I loved the Melrose Place theme song too. Oh and the Seinfeld episode where he takes a lie detector test to prove to a girlfriend that he does not watch Melrose Place – and then he fails it. Classic.

FO.  CUS.

what was the mantra?

So…..hum…..

Man I had such a crush on Andrew Shue. He did sneaker commercials too if I’m not mista-

*BELLS CHIME*

Dammit.

I know what you’re thinking. And you’re right.

It’s all Andrew Shue’s fault.

photo source:sameritech.wordpress.com

photo source:sameritech.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “I’m Pretty Sure I’m Failing Oprah’s Meditation Challenge

  1. omg – you are FUNNY. Loved this. (still feel funny posting on your blog – no idea why, but wanted you to know I thought this was hilarious).

  2. Pingback: Thanks, 2013! | These Are The Days

Leave a Reply

