So Lucky

Twenty-four years ago this month, I became a birthmother. I was 18 and terrified. But it’s been an amazing journey. 

I’m a huge advocate for open adoption because I believe that with the right emotional support, all parties involved (birthparents, adoptive parents, adoptees) can have a very healthy and fulfilled life.

For me, these last two decades have been filled with so many different emotions. Sometimes I feel like the poster child for open adoption because my experience with my son, his parents, and our extended families has been overwhelmingly positive. I really do consider myself lucky. But while the outward appearances of my open adoption story are joyful and happy, it has been a rough personal struggle for me these last two decades. Most of it was suffered in silence.

Finaly, I feel ready to share pieces of my story, my struggle and what life is like on the other side of grief and shame.  But I’ll save that for another day.

Today, I’m just grateful that I have three beautiful, talented and amazing children – my 8 year old and 18 month old girls and my 24 year old son.

Life is good.

Leave a Reply

