Are You Superstitious?

To this day, if you buy a brand new pair of shoes and put them on a table, my mother will shriek and yell while pointing at said shoes, “Hey! New shoes do not belong on the table. It’s bad luck!”

As ridiculous as I find this superstition, I admit that I’m a little afraid of the consequences should I dare to put a new pair of shoes still in the box on my kitchen table. Of course, when my mother is here I sometimes do it anyway just to see her reaction.

I’m mean like that.

But what about purses? Are brand new purses on the table bad luck too? I hope not. Because after much deliberation in the purse aisle at my local Marshall’s (and after numerous texts and photos back and forth with my sister for her expert opinion), I decided on a lovely white and navy blue number from Ivanka Trump’s purse collection.

1521281_10203761059290190_1887248129_n
I think it will be great for spring and summer. I’ve never really been much of a purse gal – give me a functional black leather shoulder bag and I’m all set. But now that I’m ready to ditch the “mom-who-keeps-everything-in-her-giant-bag” look, I thought it would be irresponsible of me to not give purse fashion a try.

Although it isn’t a pair of shoes, it’s all new and leather-y just like a pair of shoes. And yet, when I got home I left it on the table for an hour or so before moving it to the chair. Which of course I’m hoping will appease the gods of bad luck.

Are you superstitious? Is this weird?

2 thoughts on “Are You Superstitious?

  1. Gorgeous bag! I’m pretty sure it’s OK to put them on the table. Just don’t ever put your bag on the floor because that, according to my mother in law, is horrible bad luck. ;)

Leave a Reply

